The World Turned Upside Down

UNCTAD’s Supachai Panitchpakdi, former head of WTO, surprises with his report, The World Turned Upside Down, delivered in the recently-concluded Qatar Conference on April 21.

I feel for the guy, not from mushy sentimentalism but because I think I understand where he’s coming from. My academic background is economics but I didn’t pursue it as a profession having been lured into social research and community development right after university. Reflecting on this order of events, I’d say it turned out to be the best path because social research and community development instilled in me a heart for social justice and such that hard core economics didn’t teach me.

I don’t know exactly how Mr. Supachai re-discovered that heart from, but I’m happy that he did. After all, the needs and desires of the human being are not solely bound with and found in the marketplace.

Leave a Reply

