“The Peace of Wild Things”

Thursday, December 8, 2016 – 2:50 pm

<

p class=”views-field views-field-body” style=”box-sizing:border-box;margin-right:0;margin-bottom:0;margin-left:0;padding:0;border:0;font-stretch:inherit;font-size:medium;line-height:inherit;font-family:’Chronicle Text’, Georgia, serif;vertical-align:baseline;color:rgb(34,34,34);orphans:2;widows:2;”>

<

p class=”field-content” style=”box-sizing:border-box;margin-right:0;margin-bottom:0;margin-left:0;padding:0;border:0;font-style:inherit;font-variant:inherit;font-weight:inherit;font-stretch:inherit;font-size:16px;line-height:1.28;font-family:inherit;vertical-align:baseline;”>

When despair for the world grows in me and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children's lives may be, I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief. I come into the presence of still water. And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.
Leave a Reply

